Tags

, , , , ,

This is the start of a series of posts about how we let God change us. Most of us are unhappy with something in our lives but never seem to change it. This series will look at some of the important areas within this. Sorry it’s late!

I am stuck on the wide path. I want to change, I honestly do. And I try, I try harder than anything to smooth my rough edges, to swear less, to be purer, kinder, more compassionate, but it never works. Surely these are good desires? Surely this is what God wants? Then why do I remain unchanged? Why do my best efforts for good end in failure? Why is goodness so hard to grasp? Why does it take so long to gain and always seem so elusive?

God says He will give me the desires of my heart and my heart cries out to be more Christlike, yet my body fails this task. Jesus says that what I store up in my heart will overflow to my lips and maybe here is one of the problems. I have assumed my heart cry to be from the overflow of my heart when actually it is the dying cry of a heart filled with rubbish. What do I fill my heart with? Lies, deception, pride, selfishness and so my heart cries out to be better not because it is filled with goodness but because it needs to be. Because unless I fill it with good, or allow God to, then whatever goodness lies on the surface remains a facade.

Change starts in my heart. Do I listen to this heart plea for help or do I carry on assuming that if my hearts desire is good that’s enough?

1 Samuel 16:7 : ‘But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. TheLord does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”’

Isaiah 29:13 ‘The Lord says: “These people come near to me with their mouth and honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. Their worship of me is made up only of rules taught by men.’

