Tags

, , ,

I make God want to puke. Barf. Vomit. I hover convincingly between being sold out for God and not giving two hoots, and in the metaphorical mouth of God I am bland.

I’m betting you are too.

For someone not overly blessed with balance, the way I tightrope walk between hot and cold is a sight to behold. The crazy thing is that I don’t want to be middling, to be half hearted, lukewarm, bland, like England’s first world cup game performance. God doesn’t want me that way either. Yet somehow it is easier than being hot or cold. It’s easier to have a foot in both camps than it is to stand for something or stand for nothing.

Standing for nothing is harder than it sounds. It means denying the existence of God, something I find very difficult. It means actively ignoring the signs He places all around, and doing it all the time. But standing for something is equally difficult, it takes dedication, it means choosing to put others before yourself, over and over and over again.

So how do we do it? How do we get hot? How do we stay hot?

Jesus, when asked, said the two most important things are loving God and loving each other. That’s it. Love God, love each other. If I am going to get hot, to stay hot, I need you. And you need me. We need to encourage each other, I can’t do this alone – I know it. I’m a coaster, I need to be challenged to be held accountable, to be encouraged. And you need it too.

At the end of the day isn’t that what Church is meant to be?

