Tags

, , , , ,

I have a secret. It’s not something I’m ashamed of you understand, it’s just sometimes it’s easier to keep things to yourself and not open yourself up to the abuse of some judgemental people. You’ve got to understand, people have got to understand, it is addictive…. And you don’t even have to look hard to find things to ‘fuel the fire’ so to speak. You can find stuff on the internet to look at; you’ve got to dig a little to find pages worth looking at, but with a bit of time, and to be honest very little effort, there is a whole catalogue of websites to get your fix from.

There are books as well! Full of stories; whetting the appetite for more. The books with their well thumbed corners, showing regular use. A whole selection to choose from with something for everyone. Oh, just writing about it gets me eager to for more….

Then there are the others. There are hundreds of thousands of people interested in this, millions worldwide yet it is still frowned upon by so many. Why do they have to make me feel like I have a dirty little secret?

Well, I don’t intend to keep it secret anymore… I’m not embarrassed or ashamed about what I do in private… I have rights don’t I??? I should be able to do or say whatever I want, when I want, where I want… Well here I go… My secret admission…

“My name is Stuart Hasler, and I am a Christian!”

Why is it so difficult sometimes to say that one sentence? Very few of us really suffer for our faith to the extent that many do in areas where being a Christian can lead to imprisonment, exclusion from society or even death. Perhaps fear of what our audience might say, embarrassment or a lack of answers?

2 Timothy 1:7-8 tells us that we do not have a spirit of timidity but of power, whilst Romans 1:16 explains that the Gospel is nothing to be ashamed of. 1 Peter 3:15-16 tells us we should always be prepared to give an answer. To do this means having to put in the time. Putting in the time to read and absorb God’s word. Time to spend with God, hearing what He wants us to know. Sounds easy don’t it? I do not for a moment want to belittle the effort that is required, but I do want to encourage you to take the first step.

In Matthew 5:14-15 Jesus says “You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.”

If like me you’ve ‘lit the lamp’, I challenge you to not place it under ‘a bowl’, and hope that you will challenge me to do the same.

Read more from Stuart at his blog – Building Blocks

