Tags

, , ,

There are times in my life when the pressure is on and there seems to be no let up. Work is relentless and there are demands from family, church, friends, etc., that are hard to meet. Everyone wants a piece of me and all I want is a day off. Time to chill. Me time.

Sometimes keeping the faith also feels like a hard slog, but I know that it shouldn’t. The challenges of my life and the so-called daily grind are nothing compared to what Jesus went through during those three long years of ministry. Sometimes I wonder why He didn’t give up? Why Jesus didn’t seem to want the occasional day off? But the example I see is that Jesus chilled by choosing God time instead of me time. Is my problem that I want to chill in a selfish way?

When I stop and think clearly about my faith journey I realise that God does not place pressure on me at all. He never has. His patience is difficult to understand, unless I consider His intimate knowledge of me, and His Father’s love for me despite my forgetfulness. What do I forget? Apart from the indefinable love of God that ought to constantly overwhelm me I forget that the same power that raised Jesus from the dead, lives in me (Romans 8:11). I forget that Jesus breathed on His disciples and instructed them to receive the Holy Spirit (John 20:22) and that the same instruction exists for me. And I forget that God intended His Holy Spirit to be my close companion on this journey. Close companion.

