Tags

, , ,

If I wasn’t trying to watch my language I could more accurately describe my younger self, but let’s just say: if I could travel back in time and speak to that little geek I would not only give him a kick up the rear end but also a slap to the face and a chinese burn for good measure. You see, much like my Dad expressed in his first post for this blog, I lament the wasted time in my past. I wish I’d ‘got God’ a lot earlier, I wish I had taken him seriously sooner.

Having recognised this I have a choice – do I wallow in self pity, wishing I could change that which is already set in stone? Or do I use it to motivate myself to not waste anything else and to make the most of every opportunity I get to advance God’s Kingdom. The trouble is that I will invariably waste as I attempt not too.

But the real question is: what is waste? Both Dad and I wish we’d been ‘more Christian’ earlier in our lives but what if that wasn’t God’s plan? What if He knew what He was doing and placed us in those places so we would get to where we are today? What if we wouldn’t have got here today without the experiences that we may consider waste?

John 15:1-2 “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. 2 He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.”

I’m not saying that as I have walked with God there haven’t been times when I have been wasteful, but to regret and rue these times, without learning from them is arguably just as wasteful. Time to let Him do the hacking and pruning, because I want to be even more fruitful. Has you waste made you more fruitful?

