Tags

, , , ,

The other weekend I discovered this website. It appears to be a Christian blog repository deal, so out of interest I submitted one of my old blogs to the site. When I checked it again a few days later I was stunned to find my blog (art work and all) front page, having already garnered more hits than I do here in a week. I wondered why. Until I read the comments.

In that fateful blog I mentioned a misguided atheist who spoke without thinking and this attracted the kind of attention I had not expected – that of atheists and agnostics. I’d thought I was posting to a community of Christian blogs so I didn’t really know what to do. Begrudgingly I created a log in (and new blooming blog – stupid system – ahem) and attempted to reply to some of these guys. You can read my feeble logic and attempts at reason here.

A week before this, one of my online ‘blends’ (copyright meaning ‘blog friend’) had an interesting run in with what I would technically term a ‘whacko’. Heather from Grow Up! had taken on some very fundamental and deeply delusional guys who claim to be Christians. You can read about that here.

Before the main thrust of what hopefully resembles some kind of point, a few observations – Atheists and agnostics are not the scary, super intelligent, God hating, Christian destroying behemoths we have been led to believe them to be. Some of them are just like us, trying to do the best they can with limited intelligence and their own chosen belief system (although don’t try and tell them they have a belief system – they don’t like that!). Secondly atheists don’t hate you! Not all of them anyway. Some are generally interested in polite debate, and will engage you in it. And do you know what? I found myself strengthened and sharpened in my own faith by engaging with them, even to the point of defending one of them when someone needlessly attacked them!

But the main point, the biggest lie we have been sold about atheists, agnostics and wacky super enthusiastic, totally misguided Christians is that they are the enemy. We do not fight against flesh. And while it can be helpful to our own faith to engage in these debates from time to time, we must not focus on them, we must not leave the true battlefield. We must recognise the time to ‘shake the dust from our feet’ and move on. Satan himself is the true enemy and in Christ our victory is already secure. Let’s cling to that.

Ephesians 6:10-18 ‘Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.’

Have you had any battles recently?

