Tags

, , ,

I don’t know about the US of A but here in the UK we have cleared a time when people grew up with broadly Christian morals and values by at least two generations. Now we live in a generation of people who do what they want, as what they want is paramount. I believe this goes against our very essence, but just thinking about it will not change anything. And let’s not forget cultures are changing all the time, the Roman culture in which Christianity was birthed and grew was equally self centred, and not grounded in the values of Christ.

However this does present some interesting quandaries about the way we present Jesus. Traditionally we preach that if you come to Him you can be forgiven, but how do people who don’t recognise a need to be forgiven relate to this? Is now the time to focus on other aspects of God that may appeal more? Is there a correct order for coming to Christ? Is it ok for people to realise they need forgiveness after accepting Christ?

To me it seems as if we narrow the wide gospel of Jesus into a very thin wedge. As I look around I see people who feel trapped, by the credit crunch, by their houses, by they jobs – to them I would share freedom. I see those who are lonely, downtrodden, who have failed to live up to the image the world has demanded they recreate themselves in – to them I would share love and acceptance. I see the breakdown of community and family, broken homes, broken lives, scared and scarred children – to them I would take the true Father. I see those who feel crippled by the local authorities, powerless to bring change – to them I would take the Spirit.

1 Corinthians 9:22-23 “To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some. I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings.”

What do you see when you look around? What will you take them?

