Tags

, , ,

“Then, after doing all those things, I will pour out my Spirit upon all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy. Your old men will dream dreams, and your young men will see visions. Joel 2:28 NLT

I dream most nights. Some dreams are chaotic. Some I forget soon after I wake. Some dreams are so vivid and clear that I recall them in detail. And some are repeated. Being an old seadog the dream about putting a ship on the rocks used to worry me. Despite being ashore for many years I still get that dream occasionally.

There are some dreams I just have to ask God about. I do not always receive an answer, but there are times when God uses dreams to speak to me. There are times when God uses dreams to challenge me, and there are times He uses dreams to guide me. While I consider many of those dreams special, most are private. They involve God’s business with me.

Joseph was a dreamer. A young man who for some reason felt it wise to immediately recount his dreams to his family. In detail! Imagine the scene around the breakfast table as parents and older siblings found themselves pictured as bowing down in subservience to the second youngest in the family. That doesn’t bear thinking about in my family. Sorry Bethany.

Yet in time Joseph became incredibly wise. Especially in his relationship with God and in how that relationship governed his life. We need to be wise about sharing God’s words to us. Not everything is for public consumption. We also need to be alert to when God is speaking to us and seek Him further if He appears to be speaking and we don’t understand. But, and it is a big BUT…. where would the church be without dreams and visions? Surely God is calling us all to be visionary? What did you dream last night?

