Tags

,

Perhaps the biggest adjustment for me in getting married was and is waking up in the morning and thinking of someone else before myself. It’s not easy or natural, but it’s something I’m told becomes less of an option after having kids. Before I was married I’d wake up and be consumed with thoughts of myself, and even now that is sometimes the case. I mean have you ever stopped and considered how much you consider yourself in just one day?

Even people who are insecure about themselves are self centred thinkers, they must be. It might not be the most positive thinking but it’s about themselves. When Jesus told us to love others as much as we love ourselves was it just a command or was it also a satirical observation on the state of humanity?

Someone said something the other day that stopped me in my tracks. They said ‘The Lord thinks of us more than we think of ourselves.’ The more I thought about it the more it made sense. In all senses. God thinks better of me than I think of myself, but He also thinks about me more times in a day than I think of myself. That’s a lot of times. That’s a lot of thinking. That blows my mind. Are you struggling to believe that? Read Psalm 121. How many times in that short Psalm are we told that God watches over us?

May God bless you and keep you;  may He make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you; may He turn his face toward you and give you peace.

