Tags

, ,

This post is dedicated to Adam Stride.

To nerf: verb meaning to lessen the impact or effectiveness of. Often used in reference to video games as in ‘They totally nerfed the pistol in Halo 2’ Originating of course from the way nerf guns are not as deadly as the real thing.

I nerf myself frequently. Through false modesty and insecurity. When I don’t dwell in Christ and let Him dwell in me, I nerf my God given gifts and abilities and their effectiveness. I lose my edge. When I could be the wielder of a double edged sword I more frequently choose a spoon.

But it get’s worse. I attempt to nerf Jesus too. I ignore Him, I don’t believe His promises, I tell myself that I know better. But in doing all this it’s not Jesus who get’s nerfed. It’s still me. His power and awesomeness doesn’t rely on me, but I’ve bought the lie that it does. And it’s not only me. The world loves to attempt to nerf Jesus. To say that His message is irrelevant, that He was just a good man with some good ideas, that His life wasn’t that important, to deny the impact it has had on our world.

John 15:5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

My King? He’s unnerfable.

