Tags

, ,

For David’s initial tea based reflections click here.

I have just brewed another cup of my special Darjeeling, the champagne of teas. As I removed the quaint teapot shaped brewing device from my cup I looked at the tea and wondered why I always add milk. The answer of course is that it tastes better. But does it? As I write I am sipping from a milk-free cup of freshly brewed Darjeeling. And you know what? It tastes better without anything added.

And then I realised that God’s love is also better without anything added. It comes with a purity that requires nothing more than our acceptance. But human nature is to try and add to, or modify God. Instead of tasting all that He gives us in simplicity, we bring complication and eventually confusion into the equation. God’s love is pure. God’s love is simple. It should not be difficult to understand, or a challenge to accept. Nothing needs to be added.

Jesus made a comparison with water rather than tea: “Anyone who drinks this water will soon become thirsty again. But those who drink the water I give will never be thirsty again. It becomes a fresh, bubbling spring within them, giving them eternal life.” (John 4:13-14)

