Tags

, ,

Do you ever wonder what people will say about you when you die? What you might have inscribed on your tombstone? I’m always amused by the words on Spike Milligan’s grave – ‘I told you I was sick!’ Taking this thought further I wonder what God will say about me when I die. Will it be good, bad, or indifferent. After reading through 2 Kings I’m worried that it will be ‘He walked with the Lord but…’

You see the descriptions of the kings in this book are hugely interesting to me. Let me start by saying most of the kings are gash, their opening descriptions telling us how evil they were and how they followed the evil perpetrated by their predecessors. But every now and then you find a king who did a bit better. 2 Kings tells us that these kings ‘did right in the eyes of the Lord.’ But then adds a caveat, usually that these kings did not get rid of the high places, the altars where the people worshiped other Gods.

I don’t know why these kings had such a blind spot, but it happens regularly whenever a good king comes in there is a ‘but’. The scariest thing is that I see this reflected in my own life. I’m sure if God was writing a similar review of me it would say something like: ‘Nick walked in the ways of the Lord, but he never managed to get rid of the other altars in his life.’ What would God say about you? What blind spots do you have? What altars go unchallenged in your life and the lives of those around you? In what areas do you flat out ignore God?

Thank God that His grace extends far enough to see the good in us along side the flaws. But me? I want more. Oh that I could be like Hezekiah, to have a report like he receives in 2 Kings 18:5-6:

Hezekiah trusted in the LORD, the God of Israel. There was no-one like him among all the kings of Judah, either before him or after him. He held fast to the LORD and did not cease to follow him; he kept the commands the LORD had given Moses.

Lord let me live a live with no buts.

