Tags

, , ,

This is crazy. How much more can I get out of a simple cup of tea? Just when I thought I’d arrived I found out that I hadn’t. My tiny teapot shaped brewing device is good, but it is not the best way to brew the Champagne of Teas. I am now the proud owner of a ‘Tea For One Tea Cup Infuser With Double Wall Glass’ and it is amazing. The tea floats around freely and releases even more flavour. 

I have also discovered that I can infuse the same leaves more than once. YouTube came to my rescue with a teach-in on tea. Apparently there is a Chinese saying that ‘the first infusion is for your enemy, the second for your wife, and the third for you.’ In other words the first brew is not the best. It gets better.

So why was I chucking the tea away after one infusion? If I had read the instructions on the label I would have noticed the words ‘some teas may be infused more than once.’ I may also have observed that the brewing temperature (not boiling) is of importance, but I knew better (don’t we always?). While Mother only ever used boiling water for tea, I know now that each tea requires a different temperature of water, and that the brewing time differs also. I can’t wait for Amazon to deliver my tea thermometer.

And so I come back to my relationship with Jesus. Why do I make so many assumptions and fail to take note of the instructions? As well as giving us instructions Jesus also left a teacher, a counsellor – his Holy Spirit. By taking time to meet with Him and listen to Him, I am finding that what the Holy Spirit gives gets better each time I drink of those living waters (John 4:1-14). The first taste is not the best. There is more. The Apostle Paul knew this:

I pray that from His glorious, unlimited resources He will empower you with inner strength through His Spirit. 17Then Christ will make His home in your hearts as you trust in Him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. 18And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep His love is. 19May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God. 20Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. 21Glory to Him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! (Ephesians 3:16-21)

And there is still more.

