Tags

, , , ,

My Fear

I am not afraid of many things. I am not afraid of the dark. Monsters don’t keep me awake at night. Even spiders and snakes don’t creep me out too much, as long as I am prepared for their presence. However, there is one fear that besets me – the fear of bridges – gephyrophobia.

Despite my fear of falling great distances to a painful death amidst crumpled steel and shattered concrete, my job requires me to drive a large school bus across a 76-year-old death trap 4 times a day. The picture you see (hopefully) was taken from inside my bus at the very point where the bridge is the weakest (and most likely to kill me). But because I need extra money to take care of my family, and because I want to keep my job, the route I drive requires me to put my faith in this bridge. There is no other option.

The Only Bridge

Similarly, when the Apostle Peter was faced with the choice to either follow Jesus or turn away, he realized there was no other Bridge to eternity. When hundreds of others doubted the Messiah and left, Peter stayed. He said to Jesus, “Lord, to whom shall we go? thou hast the words of eternal life” (John 6:68). Even when Peter didn’t fully understand what Christ was doing, he still believed.

“Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.” – Acts 4:12

When life is hard; when nothing seems to make sense; what option do we have except to trust God? Jesus is the Bridge that has never failed. He is the Bridge that spans the ravine between man and a Holy God (1 Timothy 2:5). Even though it may involve trust like you’ve never known, the only way across is Christ. Have no fear.

