Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday John and I took a pre-Christmas trip to Devon to deliver Christmas presents to my parents. While they went out elsewhere to lunch John and I walked into Teignmouth via the seawall and the beach. John became lost in the absolute beauty of it all as he wrote in the sand, got wet feet, and threw stones in the sea. He waved at passing train drivers from the seawall, and he watched as cormorants fished. He even spotted fish swimming close to the seawall because the water was exceptionally clear and still. Later as we ate fish and chips on the seawall in Teignmouth we both marvelled as one pigeon hovered to take food from our hands because the others would not let him feed on the ground.

For two hours as God showed us just a tiny fraction of His creation a twelve-year old boy forgot about television and iPods, mobile phones and Xboxes, and a fifty-four year old man forgot about everything else. As John became totally absorbed in the wonder of his surroundings, so did I. God whispered to me and I knew that equally He was absorbed in us. We were no longer earthly father and son walking on the beach. We were two children playing with their Heavenly Father in the sand. And so He walked with us, enjoying His time in company with us, as we enjoyed our time with Him. Brief, but precious moments in time, and time itself just a parenthesis within eternity. And I want to spend it all with Him.

Jesus said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me. Matthew 18: 3-5

We are God’s children, and He longs for us to spend precious moments with Him.

