Tags

, , ,

I do not like jigsaw puzzles. I can usually manage the corners and edge pieces but after that I get frustrated and bored. Why does it take so long to put a puzzle together? Why don’t the pieces always fit where I put them? Why is it wrong to look at the picture on the box? Why do puzzles have to take up so much space on the table?

The even more frustrating thing is that my life is like a jigsaw puzzle. I don’t know how all the pieces fit together. It is only as I look back that I can see the picture forming. If I did have the box I would discover that the final picture is very different to the one I envisaged.

There is a bigger jigsaw puzzle in which I am only one piece. God is putting the puzzle together in His own time. But He knows where every piece goes. He is confident that every bit of the puzzle will fit perfectly, because he made each piece with His own hands. Perhaps that’s why His Son was a carpenter? It is good to remember that although the puzzle is comprised of billions of seemly small pieces, every piece is equally important to God.

As much as I wish that God would hurry up and finish the puzzle, He will not be hurried. The puzzle will only be complete when every piece is positioned in exactly the right place. I am guessing that some parts of the puzzle may be missing at the moment, but I know that God will not rest until He has located every piece and the puzzle is complete. Are you a missing part of the puzzle? God is looking for you.

 “What do you think? If a man owns a hundred sheep, and one of them wanders away, will he not leave the ninety-nine on the hills and go to look for the one that wandered off? And if he finds it, truly I tell you, he is happier about that one sheep than about the ninety-nine that did not wander off. In the same way your Father in heaven is not willing that any of these little ones should perish.” (Matthew 18: 12-14)

