Tags

, , , , ,

“Love it will not betray you, dismay you or enslave you. It will set you free. Be more like the man you were made to be.” The above is a quote from a Mumford & Sons song (Sigh No More) but whenever I hear it I always ponder on what sort of man I was made to be.

 

What did God intend for me when he knit me together in the womb? Am I on course to achieve some or indeed any of that? Am I realising my full potential?

 

In the Western world we are conditioned to evaluate our performance from an early age, through examinations, comparison with our peers and continuous assessment in the workplace. Even babies are measured and the results plotted on graphs (although they are unlikely to be aware of it!)

 

Whilst this sort of evaluation can be useful for some situations and some people it does not completely answer the question of who I am or who I am supposed to be. In fact, examination and evaluation can have quite a demoralising effect on those who dont measure up to the standards imposed upon them.

 

What standards do you feel you are being measured against? Your friends’? Your teachers’? Your colleagues’? Your bosses’? Your church’s? Your own?

 

As a Christian the only standard we need to aspire to is God’s as laid out in the Bible and perfectly exemplified by Jesus. All other standards are superfluous and whilst they may be useful, they do not define us or our purpose. God has a plan for our lives and he has given us instruction on how to live our lives with integrity and purpose, all we are required to do is ask what he wants us to do. The challenge is to follow through and actually do it: are you up for the challenge?

 

“Alive – I’m alive

It’s no longer I who live but Christ in

Me – I am free

Free to be whatever God made me to

Be – I can be

Everything that God intended me to

Be – I am free

Bought by Holy Blood, I’ve been set free now”

Tree63 – New Creation

 
