Tags

, , , , , ,

Prophecy. That old chestnut. Some find the very idea of it controversial. Others hear from God left, right and centre. Our church is running a prophecy course at the moment and it’s really good. It makes it all seem rather normal and desirable, which obviously fits in with ‘eagerly desiring prophecy’ from 1 Corinthians 14. And we get a chance to do it to in a safe environment. Whatever you think about prophecy in the modern age, you can’t argue that it’s great to be surrounded by Christian brothers and sisters who pray for you and build you up with Scripture.

I’ve been reading a lot of Jeremiah recently. Jeremiah seemed to have a few run ins with rival prophets who are saying what the people want to hear rather than what God wants to tell them. ‘So what?’ you may think. ‘Doesn’t apply today’ you might add. I think you are wrong.

I think the world is full of prophecy and most of them false at that. The world, through popular culture and the media, is constantly sending out voices to us, telling us how to be, what to wear, what to feel, what’s cool, the list goes on and on. And among those voices there is a distinct lack of truth. We are called to enter those places and bring truth, light, life, in short to bring Jesus. Because Jesus is the antidote to all the other voices, He is the place where we can be free. The place where we can be us, as He made us. The place where dry bones live. If that’s not prophecy I don’t know what is. What might it look like if you took that wherever you went tomorrow?

Ezekiel 37:7-10 ‘So I prophesied as I was commanded. And as I was prophesying, there was a noise, a rattling sound, and the bones came together, bone to bone. I looked, and tendons and flesh appeared on them and skin covered them, but there was no breath in them. Then he said to me, “Prophesy to the breath; prophesy, son of man, and say to it, ‘This is what the SovereignLord says: Come from the four winds, O breath, and breathe into these slain, that they may live.’” So I prophesied as he commanded me, and breath entered them; they came to life and stood up on their feet—a vast army.’

