Tags

, , , ,

Led Zeppelin’s ‘Stairway to Heaven’ is one of my favourite songs. I listened to it again this morning and realised that I had not considered some of the lyrics in the past. Try this verse for size:

If there’s a bustle in your hedgerow
Don’t be alarmed now,
It’s just a spring clean for the may queen.
Yes, there are two paths you can go by
But in the long run
There’s still time to change the road you’re on.

And it makes me wonder.

It makes me wonder too. According to Wikipedia the band were staying in a remote cottage in Wales when the song was written. The music was written partly out in the hills, while the lyrics were said to reflect books being read by Robert Plant at that time. One of these books was allegedly titled ‘Magic Arts in Celtic Britain.’ Whatever the inspiration, be it the stunning beauty of a remote Welsh hillside, or books on the occult, there are two very clear messages in this verse:

  • There are two paths you can go by
  • There’s still time to change the road you’re on

Perhaps Robert Plant had been delving into Scripture as well? Perhaps he was wondering about the road he was on? Jesus said:

Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it. (Matthew 7:13-14 NIV)

It seems surprising that only a few would find the road that leads to life. There are clues all around us, in creation especially, but at this time of year the narrow road is visible in every nativity, every Christmas card, every decoration, every tree, every Christmas light, etc. Don’t be blinded by the Christmas lights. Look carefully and realize that a world that doesn’t know Him is actually celebrating His birth. Look into Christmas and see Jesus. He has a Christmas message just for you.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light. (Matthew 11:28-30)

May the lights of Christmas illuminate your mind that you may see Jesus. May the sounds of Christmas speak His words into your soul. “Come to Me.” There’s still time to change the road you’re on.

godbaby_gift_763

