Tags

, ,

A few years ago I had a dream in which I undertook a long and difficult journey, eventually arriving at a place of rest. When I entered this place I found it to be a single room. There were about twenty people there already, only of two of whom I recognised. It appeared that they had been waiting for me. This place of rest or retreat was not a place where I was allowed to remain for long. I felt quite shocked that I was expected to leave and continue my journey so soon after arriving. I felt that I deserved a rest. Why shouldn’t I be allowed to stay in this place for a while? The people there seemed so content.

The moment any of us asked Jesus Christ into our lives it wasn’t the end of a journey, but the beginning. There are certain things we need to recognise about the journey, while remembering never to compare our journey with those of others:

  1. Every journey is unique.
  2. We all travel at different speeds.
  3. Some of us will never travel as far as others.
  4. There are those who are content to travel just a small distance.
  5. God knew that the journey would be too challenging for many.
  6. What matters most is that we achieve the full potential God planned for us when He chose us.
  7. We must not look down upon those who are slow, or who struggle. Some were never intended to travel as far as us.
  8. We must encourage those who are behind us.
  9. We must remain alert to the dangers of the journey. The evil one will attempt to disrupt or delay our journey.
  10. We do not travel alone. We travel with the power and authority of the Holy Spirit who commissioned us for the journey and walks with us.
  11. Wherever we are on the journey, nothing should separate us from the community of God.
  12. There is no fast track, no first class, no business class, no special privileges. We need to be in fellowship with other travellers.IMG_3768

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart. (Hebrews 12:1-3 NIV)

