I was at a training course last weekend. It was a good one. Tea and coffee on tap. Well, the tea being on tap was good, but as I believe coffee to be the drink of hell itself I wasn’t that bothered about it being available. The first break came and I successfully served myself a brew. But the second break I was not so lucky. I started well. Got the tea bag and sugar in the cup. Then I went to the water boiler, or should I say what had been the water boiler during the earlier break.

Unfortunately for me the rules had changed and nobody had labelled them. I also failed to notice the water boiler was now brown. It wasn’t until I lifted the cup to my lips and the faint aroma of coffee beseeched my nostrils. Convinced I had made a perfectly normal cup of tea I persevered, but it soon became clear that coffee tea is totally vile. As I realised this I started to wonder what had happened, had I switched cups with someone else? Then I remembered the brown water, and it all clicked! Why hadn’t they labelled it as coffee?

It’s not usually that hard to spot the warning signs, I had my senses to rely on and yet I still chose to press on. I saw the water was the wrong colour, I smelt it was wrong and I tasted it was wrong yet I still drank on. Everyone makes mistakes but there are usually warning signs that let us know if we are heading towards trouble.

1 Peter 5:8 “Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.”

 

