Tags

, ,

At the end of a long day travelling/attending a four-hour meeting in Vienna last week I was faced with the strangest of things. A hotel with one restaurant serving only what was referred to as ‘Austrian Tapas.’ This was something outside of my experience. I know and enjoy Spanish Tapas, but Austrian? Although I fancied something quick and easy like a burger, or good old fish and chips, there was little choice but to peruse the menu if I was going to feed my hunger.

ViennaThe deal was five dishes for €19.00 with a choice of cold, warm and sweet. I had to rely on the restaurant staff for guidance, but eventually placed an order for a pumpkin soup, a salad, two warm savoury dishes, and apple strudel for dessert. What followed was one of the finest meals I have ever eaten in a hotel restaurant. I marvelled at the fact that while I had turned my nose up at the menu, the food was superb. I learnt something that night. To discover just how good something is, you have to taste it. If you don’t taste, then you have no right to criticise.

Taste and see that the Lord is good;
 blessed is the one who takes refuge in him. (Psalm 34:8 NIV)

