If you are a follower of Jesus then you are required to grow in your faith daily. Don’t take my word for it, look in your Bible. Why did Jesus spend three years building, encouraging and growing the disciples? Even when the Holy Spirit let the disciples loose after Pentecost they didn’t stop growing and learning, and they made sure that they told the Christians of the day to keep growing. The Apostle Paul was the same.

Therefore, rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind. Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation, now that you have tasted that the Lord is good. (1 Peter 2:1-3 NIV)

Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord. Such a person is double-minded and unstable in all they do. (James 1: 4-8 NIV)

When I think of all this, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father, the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth. I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God. (Ephesians 3: 14-19 NIV)

We were not created to stagnate, with moss growing between our toes. To follow Jesus means to keep on moving, and to encourage others to keep on moving. Stagnant water stinks. I don’t want to be a stinky Christian. I want to be filled with the fragrance of Jesus. I want to leave a good smell behind me as I keep on moving. I want to know more about Him. I don’t want to stop learning or growing. I want more of Him in me.

Let the beauty of Jesus be seen in me
All His wonderful passion and purity
Oh, Thou Spirit divine, all my nature refine
Till the beauty of Jesus be seen in me

(Albert W. T. Orsborn 1886-1967)

