Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I really struggle with impossible goals. I am not talking about aiming high, but genuinely  impossible targets. At secondary school I’d always been quite good at maths so when I came to choose my A levels, it seemed like the obvious choice. However I soon found that the leap in understanding needed was to much for me. Which brings me to Christianity. We have been told that we should be more Christlike but is there anything more unattainable? Isn’t this an impossible goal?

The short answer is yes, and through God’s grace we will do the best we can, but this has always been a little unsatisfactory to me. I mean what’s the point of chasing an impossible goal. But then I realised God doesn’t want me to be Jesus.

Philippians 2:5 ‘In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus:’

The first thing to notice is that our mindset, or attitude, is to be the same as Jesus’ not the way we live our lives. We are not called to be Jesus, but have the same attitude as Him. This makes sense as I cannot live the perfect life, but I can take Jesus’ attitude into my failures as and when they happen.

Ephesians 2:10 ‘For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.’

God made us all unique, the only brief was to be in His image. We bear that image best by being who He made us to be. He never wanted a world full of Jesus’ but instead a world full of people being the most Jesus like version of themselves they can possibly be. Still sounds like a hard task, but not impossible. What do you need to do to be the most Jesus like version of you you can be?

 

