Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

When it comes to musical taste we all think we are experts. My upbringing in music was mixed. Dad had some excellent taste which I didn’t appreciate at the time – Pink Floyd and The Eagles to name a few. His taste was a little eclectic too, with plenty of room for Chris de Burgh and Roxette, both of which I still have a soft spot for. Having a musical taste is fine, it’s when we take a little to much pride in it that problems occur.Recently one of the young people at our church was round our house when our music was on shuffle. He was horrified when a Taylor Swift song came on. We then got into a debate about music snobbery, which he was definitely guilty of! I told him that I had been guilty of similar folly in my youth when everything seemed so black and white, and everyone who disagreed with me was an idiot!

I used to be very dogmatic with Christianity too. The black was definitely black and the white was pure snow. I’d call it like I saw it with very little concern for people’s feelings or the grace that Jesus called me to. It’s not that my convictions about truth have in anyway been eroded by the tides of time, just that what I value has changed slightly. I no longer feel the need to be right or have my beliefs validated. I could argue with the best of them, but I’d rather bring the gospel than my opinion on some doctrine.

I’m not saying doctrine is unimportant, just that for too long I have prioritised my idea of truth over the importance of the gospel.

