Tags

P1080451

Have you ever been away from home on holiday/vacation or for some other reason and wondered how you managed to live without most of the stuff you have accumulated in your home/life? As someone who travels regularly on business I am always amazed at the number of large suitcases many travellers drag to the airport check-ins. In contrast I travel with as little as possible. Apart from my laptop bag with computer and any paperwork I need, I use a canvas holdall that fits easily into an overhead locker or underneath an aircraft seat. Once seated I watch with amusement as fellow business travellers struggle to fit their oversized rigid wheelie bags into the overhead lockers.

P1110735I’m not sure when human nature acquired the need to carry so much baggage. Do we really need so many possessions, and do we honestly need to take so many of them with us when we go on a trip? My daughter cannot go away overnight without several choices of clothes and shoes for the next day. It drives me nuts! There is only so much space in the boot/trunk of the car.

Which brings me nicely to the subject God has laid on my heart today: Those of us who carry too much baggage from their past. For many followers of Jesus baggage from the past is hard to release. It holds them back. It constrains their spiritual growth, and it trips them up. Perhaps Jesus was sending a message to modern day Christians when he despatched the disciples on mission virtually empty-handed? If baggage from your past is preventing you from moving forward release it. Let it go. Dump it. Stop using it as an excuse. Bring it to the foot of the cross and leave it there. You can live without it; you need to live without it. Release it to Jesus and then let the healing begin.

Calling the Twelve to him, he began to send them out two by two and gave them authority over impure spirits. These were his instructions: “Take nothing for the journey except a staff – no bread, no bag, no money in your belts. Wear sandals but not an extra shirt. (Mark 6:7-9 NIV)

