Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

YWS13Yesterday I got back from YWS13 (The Youthwork Summit). It was my first time at YWS and I was swayed to attend by the promise of a preaching masterclass from the legendary Dr Tony Campolo on the early day, followed by the main day of fast moving talks on a wide range of topics. So why then my distain? Well as per usual the problem was not the event itself, which was excellent and I shall be linking to some of the best talks in the coming weeks, the problem was me.

As much as I enjoy these events, and I certainly do, they often appeal to my insecurities. I see a parade of truly exceptional youth workers, people who have gone above and beyond, who have changed the lives of young people, and then I turn my gaze on myself and see wasted opportunities and a man who has floundered about for far to long. Of course this is not the organisers fault or indeed their intention, just an unfortunate side effect.

But this time something changed. I’m not sure if it was through the worship, or the teaching, the theme of greater, or just simply being sick of selfishly placing my self doubting thoughts above everything else, but I have decided to stop waiting. For years I have had prophesies and pictures about the things I will do, but they have never quite come off the way I expected. I think it’s because I lived in the world of ‘If only’ and this has caused me to wait, to wait for God to move, to wait for the timing to be right, to wait for the right circumstances. I’m sick of it. And while there is a time to wait on God, for me it’s time to start changing, to start doing.

Deuteronomy 1:6-8 ‘The Lord our God said to us at Horeb, ‘You have stayed long enough at this mountain. Break camp and advance into the hill country of the Amorites; go to all the neighbouring peoples in the Arabah, in the mountains, in the western foothills, in the Negev and along the coast, to the land of the Canaanites and to Lebanon, as far as the great river, the Euphrates. See, I have given you this land. Go in and take possession of the land that the Lord swore he would give to your fathers – to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob – and to their descendants after them.’

(And why not book in for YWS14 it will be awesome)

 

