Tags

, , ,

Diary 1963I have two diaries that are precious to me. One was a diary I completed in 1970. It is the only diary I have from my youth. The other diary is my grandfather’s 1963 desk diary. It is the last desk diary granddad completed in full – he passed away on 30 December 1964. I like to look back and see what granddad was doing in 1963, and I try to remember this special man. My favourite childhood photograph is of me standing with granddad on the seawall at Holcombe in Devon circa 1960. I still walk that same stretch of seawall whenever I visit my parents.

Granddad Holcombe 1960Equally precious to me are the journals I have been keeping for the last fourteen years. They are not diaries, but they record my daily walk with God. I am often prompted to look back a year, sometimes further, and sometimes to a specific date. God always uses these recollections to encourage me and to bless me. There are times I am challenged by what I read. Here is what I wrote on 12 April 2012 while attending Spring Harvest in Skegness (six-day Christian event in the UK) with my family:

How well do I know Jesus? Would I recognize Him if He was walking around Spring Harvest in human form as He did 2,000 years ago? More importantly, would others recognize Jesus in me today? It is not about WWJD badges or Spring Harvest wristbands, Christian music or books. It is not even about my life choices, or my opinions about current affairs. The question is very simple. Is Jesus recognizable in me?

This is a question I need to ask myself every day. And if Jesus is visible in me, then for how much of each day?

Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God. (Ephesians 5:1-2 NIV)

