Tags

, ,

CIMG6185 copyWhen I was a child I loved airplanes and airports. I didn’t realize then how many hours of my life would be spent checking in, sitting in departure lounges, squashed into aircraft seats, etc. I could never have anticipated the security controls that would be implemented in the future, or the terrorist incidents that made such controls necessary. If anyone had told me what it would be like I would not have believed them. Yet here I sit waiting for yet another delayed flight typing this blog post on my iPhone. And that is something else. Who could have predicted iPhones? All I wanted as a child was my own transistor radio!

Humans love trying to look ahead and imagining what the future might be like. We watch shows on television about gadgets, and many of us soak up science fiction movies. Given our persistent desire to know what the future holds it seems strange that such a large proportion of the human race appears totally ignorant of the fact that the future has already been laid out and is described in The Bible. This is a future that makes any visions of the future you or I or the moviemakers may have pale into insignificance. This is a future that is the promise of God for all of humanity. This is the future I am looking forward to. How about you?

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” (Revelation 21:1-4 NIV)

