Tags

, , ,

One of the benefits of travelling with work is that I sometimes get taken out to eat. A few of those occasions have been memorable. I remember the best steak I have ever tasted was at a restaurant in Caracas in Venezuela back in 1995. Portugal and Turkey compete for the title of the best seafood I have ever had. More recently I enjoyed Austrian Tapas for the first time, and was treated to a wonderful Kosovan meal in Priština.

Fantastic eating experiences are great, but that is all they are. While I can remember the experiences, I cannot remember or replicate the taste of the food from any of them. I just remember that they were good. Even if I went back to the same restaurants I might be disappointed. They may not exist anymore, or they may have changed ownership, and chefs may have come and gone.

This is the trouble with things of earth. They are temporary experiences only. Here one minute, gone the next. They may leave memories, but memories can never replicate the experience. Even precious possessions wear out with time. I can look back on fifty-six years of life and remember many great tastes, experiences and possessions, but I cannot hold onto anything forever because time erodes both memories and possessions. What I can hold onto forever is the Living Word of God and the promises it contains. I can hold onto my faith in God and the knowledge that He created me for a purpose, and that he watches my every step in this life. I can hold onto the fact that God loves me so much that He gave what was most precious to Him so that I could enter into a Father and child relationship with Him. I can truly say that I have tasted God and that He is so good. So good that I am hungry for more of Him.

I will extol the Lord at all times; his praise will always be on my lips.

I will glory in the Lord; let the afflicted hear and rejoice.

Glorify the Lord with me; let us exalt his name together.

I sought the Lord, and he answered me; he delivered me from all my fears.

Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame.

This poor man called, and the Lord heard him; he saved him out of all his troubles.

The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him, and he delivers them.

Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.

Fear the Lord, you his holy people, for those who fear him lack nothing. (Psalm 34:1-9 NIV)

