Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have always been a big basketball fan. Living in the UK it is not always easy to keep up with the NBA so when I had a chance to catch game 6 of the recent finals I jumped at it. I enjoyed the game and afterwards I saw someone post this video on Facebook with the comment ‘That’s what 500 shots a day for 20 years gets you #getgood’. I engaged in a bit of banter because despite it being a great shot Ray Allen spent the early parts of the game under performing and missing shots.

I asked my friend if one good shot made up for a game’s worth of average? You may say Allen saved the day and send the game to overtime but what if he had hit the earlier shots? Maybe overtime wouldn’t have been necessary? Surely we wouldn’t accept this in any other area of life? I mean if I preached a rubbish sermon but gave a good last line would that be ok? Would I settle for that? Would my church family?

Colossians 3:23-24 ‘Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters, 24 since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.’

