Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Our little boy has been with us a few nights now. It’s strange and unknown territory and there is so much I am learning, about him, about me, about Anna and about God. Most of it I will not be able to share through this blog, as we want our little man’s story to remain his story to tell should he choose to. Suffice to say there is a lot that even we don’t know about that happened in his missing years.It hurts sometimes how little we know about him and how powerless were are to protect him from events that have already befallen him. Oh that we would have met him sooner! All those years seem like wasted time when it could have been very different. Then I think about my missing years…

I’ve been a ‘Christian’ for the majority of my life but a lot of my time is spent missing from God. Whether through ignorance or arrogance I often miss out on his voice and its power in my life. And I wonder if he too longs, as an adoptive parent, for us to turn to him sooner, to get to know him better, to let him be the number one in our lives. If he does then that’s an awful lot of longing…

Revelation 3:20 “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.”

