Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Currently my iPhone is in for repair. It has been in for repair for over two weeks now. When I first took the phone in to the shop I was led to believe that I would only be without my phone for a day or two. I did not envision being phone less for more than a fortnight.

It’s funny how we adapt. Apart from missing the odd call or text I haven’t found the loss of my phone much of a problem, an inconvenience for sure, but not a problem. In fact it was nice that it coincided with Little Welford’s arrival with us. No the problem has been that I haven’t found that I’ve had any extra time due to the lack of a phone.

Some people would have us believe that the invention of smartphones and social media has robbed us of our spare time and connection with each other, but maybe the problem isn’t with technology, maybe the problem is with us. You see I haven’t filled the extra time I have had with prayer, Bible, or friends, I have merely filled it. The phone may have been an easy target for others to comment on – ‘He’s always on his phone’ ‘Get off your phone!’ but the truth is most of us choose what we want to do over what we know we should do.

I get a bit fed up when we look at the symptoms rather than the disease itself. There will always be something to distract us from the tasks of the light, rather than being doubly distracted and blaming these things, let’s face up to the fact that we probably need a bit more self discipline!

Titus 2:11-14 ‘For the grace of God has appeared that offers salvation to all people. It teaches us to say ‘No’ to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, while we wait for the blessed hope – the appearing of the glory of our great God and Saviour, Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good.’

