Tags

,

Seiko 5During the period that I served at sea most British seafarers had a thing about Seiko watches. I don’t remember what I was wearing on my wrist when I joined my first ship in 1973 but it certainly wasn’t a Seiko. After two years of desperately wanting but not being able to afford a Seiko a stunning Seiko caught my eye while ashore in Singapore. It cost two weeks wages even at duty free prices, but I really wanted this watch and managed to talk myself into buying it.

When I got back to the ship and I looked at the Seiko I realised that this watch would make an excellent gift for my father. He and I didn’t get on so well in those days and two weeks pay seemed an awful lot to spend on a gift for my dad. Every day for the rest of that voyage I got the Seiko out of its box and looked at it, and every day I put it back in the box until I returned home and gave it to my dad. At that time the Seiko was certainly the most expensive watch my father had ever owned. It is probably also the most precious gift I have ever given to my father. Then a few years ago dad gave me the watch back making it the most precious gift that he has ever given to me.

That Seiko is now thirty-eight years old. The face is scratched but it still runs perfectly. It has to be worn to make it work because it is an automatic watch that is wrist-powered. When I wear the Seiko I am reminded of the special bond of human love between a father and his son that makes such precious gifts possible. But the Seiko was a simple gift in comparison to the gift that God made when He gave His Son, a priceless and most precious gift that sealed an eternal bond between God and humanity. So why is it so hard for so many of us to accept that gift? Is it because we feel we have nothing to give in return? All God wants is the simplicity of our love. He loves us and wants us to love Him back. How can that be so difficult?

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. (John 3:16 NIV)

Another Precious Gift: https://nwelford.wordpress.com/2012/05/23/father-and-son/

 

