Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

broken bogI was attending a conference in Harrogate with my minister. He’d arranged for us to stay with a couple he knew. We’d arrived got settled in, gone to the first seminar, and returned for some food. Our hosts were out so we made ourselves comfortable, maybe too comfortable. As when I attended the little boys room and sat down the seat, as the photo shows, cracked. Oh dear was probably not what I thought as the enormity of the situation dawned on me, here I was in a strangers house and I’d just desecrated the throne room. What should I do? Put the seat down and pretend I hadn’t been in there? Or own up to an embarrassing faux pas?Well I decided honesty was the best policy and confessed to my hosts who found the whole thing very amusing! I guess ultimately for me I had to choose between saving face or being honest.

There are a lot of things that I have done in my life that embarrass me, some intentional some not, but unless I can bring them into the light they will always exhibit some sort of hold over me. When my image is more important to me than my relationship with God, then we have a problem.

Ephesians 5:8-13 ‘For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth) and find out what pleases the Lord. Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them. It is shameful even to mention what the disobedient do in secret. But everything exposed by the light becomes visible – and everything that is illuminated becomes a light.’

