Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As I continue down the path that will eventually lead to ordination, or so God tells me, I learn and relearn a number of lessons. Recently my journey has not been particularly easy, dealing with people and adding my own ego into the mix never is, but it has taught me this – I need to give grace extravagantly. Interestingly I have often found this harder to do in the big instances than the small ones. I find out about someone hurting themselves and others and I want to show them grace, someone let’s me down on a smaller scale however, and I want to punch them in the face. It is almost easier to empathise with someone who has made a major mistake than a silly little one.

Then of course there is the criticism that can come. Speaking the truth in love is something a lot of Christians practise but few are practised in. But the same is true of grace. I need to be the kind of leader, scratch that, the kind of Christian who’s first response is grace. I’m tired of the games of insecurity and alike that hamper my life. It won’t be easy but I’m sure it will ultimately be freeing. Because ultimately I am at least as bad a sinner as anyone else, and you are at least as bad a sinner as me.

Galatians 6:1-3 ‘Live creatively, friends. If someone falls into sin, forgivingly restore him, saving your critical comments for yourself. You might be needing forgiveness before the day’s out. Stoop down and reach out to those who are oppressed. Share their burdens, and so complete Christ’s law. If you think you are too good for that, you are badly deceived.’

