Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Love LightAs I write this it is little Welford’s birthday and I had a moment. I wasn’t expecting it, I thought my feelings were quite straight forward. I thought that realising I was a Dad was the last step. I was wrong. As he rode his new bike to preschool I watched on and was quite suddenly overwhelmed with my love for this little boy, my boy. Holding back the tears I picked him up, told him I loved him and carried on. Thankfully I was able to hold it together in preschool, before escaping to my office! I had a little(ish) blub and carried on. It was pure emotion I couldn’t control it and certainly didn’t expect it and even now thinking about it still produces a strong emotional reaction in me.It felt a little like my emotions were catching up with my logic, I had decided I was a Dad and now the feelings caught up. I’d been waiting for a moment, a true reflection on parenting that could compare a little to how God sees us and here it was. Do you know God’s love for you stops him doing what ever he is doing, just to look at you? He puts down his book, turns the TV off, pauses and considers you as his heart fills with love. His love for you causes him to stop.

Romans 8:35-39 ‘Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? As it is written: “For your sake we face death all day long; we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.” No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of Godthat is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

 

