Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

On the afternoon of the day my emotions about being a dad caught up with my logic, I read these verses:

Joel 2:25-27 “I will repay you for the years the locusts have eaten the great locust and the young locust, the other locusts and the locust swarm my great army that I sent among you. You will have plenty to eat, until you are full, and you will praise the name of the Lord your God, who has worked wonders for you; never again will my people be shamed. Then you will know that I am in Israel, that I am the Lord your God, and that there is no other; never again will my people be shamed.”

I don’t know the way your life has gone, what you feel you have had to give up, or what you feel has been taken from you, but I do know this; four years ago we were childless and looking at IVF, today we are parents to a wonderful little boy. Many people told us that God would give us the desires of our hearts, but if you’d told us then what exactly that meant I’m not sure how we would have reacted.

Think about your struggles, are you really ready for them to be saved with the wave of a magic wand? I’m just saying that in our case maybe it took some time for us to be ready for what God had in store? God will repay the years the locusts have eaten, and at a time when you are best able to enjoy it.

