P1040887If you listen very carefully then at the end of the final track on Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon album you will hear the words: “There is no dark side of the moon really. Matter of fact it’s all dark.” Yet this morning I woke to find a brilliant moon shining through the bedroom window just before it set (we sleep with the window open and the curtains drawn back even in winter).

Now I know that the moon has no light of its own. I remember seeing the first moon landing on television and I still have a scrapbook I made of newspaper cuttings of that historic journey. Yet the moon shines. It hangs up there in the heavens and it reflects the light of the sun onto this world and it shatters the darkness with its light. Only the brightest of the planets and the stars can be seen in the night sky when the moon is full.

Sara Groves wrote a song about the sun and the moon comparing God with the sun and herself with the moon:

sara groves.jpg

I find the words of this song both challenging and encouraging. They remind me that:

  • God possesses a beauty so brilliant we cannot understand it. Just like the sun.
  • Although we have no light of our own God will make us shine if we turn our faces towards Him.
  • Without Him we are like the dark side of the moon. Cold, dark and stony.

God reaches out to touch us just like the warmth of the sun that even in winter can brighten our days and reduce the chill. When we allow Him to touch us we begin to reflect His light and gradually we become radiant in Him. And when His light reflects off us then people around us start to notice and we become a source of blessing. Travelling to the moon involves a lot of rocket science. Turning our faces towards God does not.

I sought the Lord, and he answered me; He delivered me from all my fears.

Those who look to Him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame. (Psalm 34:4-5 NIV)

 

