Tags

, , , ,

There are many paths, lanes and roads in our county. If I am walking or riding my bicycle then I try to use quieter paths, or lanes where traffic is infrequent. Ginhall Lane should be such a place, but is not because motorists use it as a rat run. This is despite restrictions on turning in and out of Ginhall Lane, which a good 50% of drivers of all ages appear to ignore. The problem is that Ginhall Lane is only a shortcut if you drive fast. The second problem is that people like to walk and cycle in Ginhall Lane, which is not safe for the national speed limit of 60mph.P1040151

There is an alternative. Running parallel to Ginhall Lane there is a stony footpath to the rear of the housing estate where I live. This morning I walked a short distance along Ginhall before using the foot/cycle path to reach the path behind the estate. Over the years people have tried to create their own paths between the footpath and Ginhall Lane. Very few of these provide a safe means of moving between the two, particularly when it is wet.IMG_7440

It doesn’t matter where we walk or go, there always seems to be some element of risk attached. Shortcuts abound but are not necessarily safe, nor short. Travelling the road of life is no different. Danger is all around. There are hidden challenges, risk and problems. It ain’t easy, as a certain David Bowie once sang. The Bowie song includes the words:words

IMG_7439There are a lot of strange things circulating round. Theories for everything, and even allegedly many different paths and shortcuts to God. I thought that way once but I don’t now. The Bible is crystal clear: Only a narrow road fraught with challenges and difficulties leads to God. There are no shortcuts, no alternative routes, and we would be foolish to be seduced into following diversions. It ain’t easy. Jesus never said that it would be, but He did promise that there was room for us all in His Father’s home.

“Don’t let this throw you. You trust God, don’t you? Trust me. There is plenty of room for you in my Father’s home. If that weren’t so, would I have told you that I’m on my way to get a room ready for you? And if I’m on my way to get your room ready, I’ll come back and get you so you can live where I live. And you already know the road I’m taking.”

Thomas said, “Master, we have no idea where you’re going. How do you expect us to know the road?”

Jesus said, “I am the Road, also the Truth, also the Life. No one gets to the Father apart from me. If you really knew me, you would know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him. You’ve even seen him.” (John 14: 1-7 MSG Version).

