I have loved chocolate for as long as I can remember. Chocolate was not in regular supply growing up but it was there. And in those days there was no suggestion that chocolate might not be good for you. It still doesn’t have health warnings, but the newspapers and the nanny state regularly preach to society about not having too much sugar, too much salt, too much this and too much that. Very occasionally the papers might publish an article on the benefits of chocolate, although usually it is dark rather than milk chocolate that is considered to have a positive effect on one’s health.

IMG_7556There is a 100-gram bar of Milka Alpine Milk chocolate in a drawer under my desk. Well, it started the day as 100 grams, but now weighs in at only 66.7 grams. Having opened the chocolate I am very tempted to eat it all. All 530 kcals of it. Why? Because having got the taste I want more. That bar of chocolate is shouting out my name. Loudly.

God is not in the habit of shouting loudly. Ask Moses, Samuel, Elijah or any of a host of other people whose names appear in Scripture. The chocolate is shouting loudly because I have tasted it and I know it is good. But I have also tasted of God and know that He is good. I should want to taste of His goodness all day long but often I don’t even think about Him. However, the more I do think about God, the more time I spend quietly in His company, and the more time I spend feeding on His word, then the hungrier I get for more.

IMG_7559Contrast God with chocolate. The more chocolate I eat the fuller I get. If I eat too much chocolate I could lose my appetite for other things, and I could make myself unwell. I would not live very long if all I ate was chocolate. But the more I experience of God the more I want, and the more I need not just to live now, but also to prepare me for eternity. There are plenty of other things to feed on in my office: God’s word, Christian devotionals, books and magazines. There is music that helps me worship and my laptop provides easy access to blog posts written by other believers that regularly lift, encourage and teach me. I really have no excuse not to be feeding on God all day every day.

“Is anyone thirsty? Come and drink even if you have no money! Come, take your choice of wine or milk it’s all free! Why spend your money on food that does not give you strength? Why pay for food that does you no good? Listen to me, and you will eat what is good. You will enjoy the finest food.

“Come to me with your ears wide open. Listen, and you will find life. I will make an everlasting covenant with you. I will give you all the unfailing love I promised to David. See how I used him to display my power among the peoples. I made him a leader among the nations. You also will command nations you do not know, and peoples unknown to you will come running to obey, because I, the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, have made you glorious.”

Seek the Lord while you can find him. Call on him now while he is near.” (Isaiah 55:1-6 NLT)

