Tags

, ,

IMG_7723Travelling to Dublin on Monday I was very grateful that I have a Priority Pass card that gets me into a rather pleasant lounge at Birmingham Airport. The lounge provides complimentary breakfast (choice of Bacon Roll or Eggs Florentine) plus croissants and hot or cold drinks. Having enjoyed my breakfast I made my way to the gate a little early. As other passengers started to arrive and queue I realized that I had seen none of them in the lounge. It appears that I received special treatment. What had I done to warrant such privilege? Not much. My bank gives me the Priority Pass card to say thank you for my custom.

My fellow travellers do of course have a choice. They could pay for lounge access, they could pay the annual fee to obtain a Priority Pass, or they could change banks. It is possible that not many people know that a certain account with a certain bank rewards customers in this way. I can’t say that I have ever told anyone about it. Should I? After all – nobody has ever asked what it costs to get a free breakfast in the lounge.

IMG_7725I’m trying hard to remember when I last told someone about Jesus. Jesus had a keen interest in breakfast. One of the last things He did before His ascension was to cook breakfast for His best friends. Jesus knew the importance of hospitality and of setting an example. In a way that breakfast on the beach could be compared to No. One Lounge at Birmingham International Airport. Only a few had invitations to be there, but the whole point of this breakfast was to commission a group of people who would spread the word that rather than being restricted to a minority, the Kingdom of God is open to everyone.The only question is how will others find out if nobody tells them?

The entry procedure is stunningly simple. We are not talking about a business class lounge with a manned reception desk but eternity. Jesus made it crystal clear that there are many rooms in His Father’s house. Room enough for all who wish to join Him there. We don’t need a special bank account, a Priority Pass membership, or any funds to pay for entry. The entry price has already been paid in full. Just like my bank has compensated Priority Pass for the cost of my membership, Jesus paid up front for anyone who chooses to join Him in a rather different lounge. And you know what? I’d rather be manning the reception desk in that lounge that supping coffee and eating Eggs Florentine in No.1 One Lounge or any other lounge. Wouldn’t you?

Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere;

I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of the wicked.

For the Lord God is a sun and shield; the Lord bestows favour and honour; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless.

Lord Almighty, blessed is the one who trusts in you. (Psalm 84:10-12 NIV)

