Tags

, ,

In the last few years I have made several friends who I have never met in person. We have got to know each other through our common interest of blogging. We support and encourage each other not only through the blogs we write and read, but also on occasions via email. It is entirely possibly that none of these people actually exist, but I believe that they do.

Even though I have never met them I believe I have found sufficient evidence to confirm that these blogging friends of mine are real people. Most of them feature on social media meaning that I can connect with them also via Facebook and Twitter. They all have email. I have had a FaceTime conversation with one, three have published books that I have and am able to hold in my hand, two have sermons I can listen to on the Internet, while interviews with another about her books are available to view on YouTube.

Although I have never met any of these people they are all real to me and I consider them to be friends. Most people in Western society would probably understand this statement and accept it without question. They would understand how I have come to know people through what they write, and what they post electronically. But most people in Western society appear to have difficulty in accepting the possibility of a relationship with a loving God because they struggle with what they would say is a lack of evidence.

My contention is that God is evident in everything. The main problem is that our senses and our innermost beings are closed to Him. Opinions on creation aside, the most powerful evidence that God exists is written on the very first page of the Bible: ‘In the beginning God.’ There has to be a beginning. There was a beginning to each relationship I have established electronically with other bloggers. Some of these relationships are deeper than others because they have existed longer and because of the connections we have made. My relationship with God began before time when He decided to create me. What right have I not to enter into relationship with Him given that He decided to invest His time and energy into me?

I find God in the pages of Scripture, through the many signposts He has placed around me in creation, and through a personal connection as He meets with me every time I turn my eyes to Him. No, I am not worthy of such a relationship. I could use the excuse that I can’t prove He exists to avoid being in relationship with God if I considered unworthiness to be an issue. However, it was because my unworthiness was an issue for God that He took extraordinary action to remove it. That single and most radical action more than anything dumps reality into my lap and shouts so loudly of His love for me that I cannot ignore it. And if I cannot ignore it then it is important that I share it. And that is why I blog. Because God wants you to know how much He loves you.

He came into the very world he created, but the world didn’t recognize him. He came to his own people, and even they rejected him. But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God. They are reborn – not with a physical birth resulting from human passion or plan, but a birth that comes from God. (John 1:10-13 NLT)

“For God loved the world so much that he gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life. God sent his Son into the world not to judge the world, but to save the world through him.” (John 3:16-17 NLT)

