Tags

, , ,

It doesn’t seem possible that one week ago we were staying with my parents and walking on the beach daily. The sea has played a big part in my life, from the island home of my childhood, to my time spent serving on ships. I still miss not being by/on the sea. The beautiful countryside where we live provides some compensation, but there is just something special about the sea.IMG_9069 copy

I doubt that Noah would have shared my love of the sea. He knew nothing of the oceans when God called Him to build the Ark. The thought of being cast adrift in a floating zoo with no engine and no sails and probably no rudder must have seemed like complete madness. But the Ark was a miracle of naval architecture, despite being built by a farmer. Fortunately, Noah was wise enough to follow the plans he was given, for the Ark was designed by the Creator to float without capsizing; and to survive five months drifting at the mercy of the wind and waves without taking on water, and without the benefit of pumps to remove any water that might have found its way into the bilges.

The Ark is but one of many miracles recorded in the Bible. The dictionary app on my laptop defines a miracle as: An extraordinary and welcome event that is not explicable by natural or scientific laws and is therefore attributed to a divine agency.’ So miracles and God go together. No God, no miracles. No miracles, no God.

IMG_9037I can never forget the sea despite living in the countryside. So why is it so easy to forget much of what God has done in my life: the miracles, the many blessings, the unexpected interventions, etc.? When we forget what God has done for us then we risk forgetting about God. When we forget about God we start to live our lives our way, instead of His. The risk then is that we become like those left outside Noah’s Ark after God shut the door. We need to remember more.

IMG_8958We need to remember the miracles – those recorded in Scripture, those we hear about, and especially those in our own lives. If we forget such special reminders of God’s existence and His oversight of our lives we may find ourselves adrift without engine, sails or rudder. God uses a rainbow as a reminder. What best causes you to remember God throughout each busy day?

And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.” So God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on the earth.” (Genesis 9:12-17 NIV)

