Jesus sat down near the collection box in the Temple and watched as the crowds dropped in their money. Many rich people put in large amounts. Then a poor widow came and dropped in two small coins.

Jesus called his disciples to him and said, “I tell you the truth, this poor widow has given more than all the others who are making contributions. For they gave a tiny part of their surplus, but she, poor as she is, has given everything she had to live on.” Mark 12: 41-44 (NLT)

I wish I had been there. I wish I had been with Jesus when He watched the people making their gifts in the Temple. I am certain I would have missed the importance of the gift made by the poor widow. I nearly missed it this morning when I read about her gift again. After reading those few words I closed my eyes to spend time in prayer. The past two mornings have been so busy that I haven’t had time to pray in a quiet place. Everything has happened on the go. A bit like grabbing a coffee from a drive through restaurant and trying to drink it while driving along. Strangely, this is illegal in the UK although I understand it is not in the USA.P1050601

This morning I realised that the time I give to God is like precious treasure. A gift that is not really mine to give because it already belongs to Him. Yet instead of giving everything I find myself giving just a fraction of my riches of time. Excuses are easy to come by, but the reality is that I have no excuse for not honouring God with my time early every morning, and then throughout the day. God knows all about the demands that life places on my time. But He also knows how much time I squander and waste. Time perhaps that could be given to Him.

