The phrase “I know nothing!” was made famous in an episode of Fawlty Towers when Manuel the Spanish waiter refuses to back up his boss Basil Fawlty when clarification is required concerning an amount of cash that Basil has won on a horse racing bet. Manuel takes his stand because Basil has told him to deny knowledge of the win if Sybil, Basil’s wife, asks where the money came from.


The fact that I know nothing is increasingly evident as I grow older. Despite school, university and professional qualifications I know very little about the universe, this planet, my country, or even my county. I know even less about God who put it all together in a little show called creation, as documented in the book of Genesis. Knowing that I know nothing is a good place to start if I want to know something.

There are folk who believe that they know enough to say that there is no God, and that creation is a myth. There are folk who believe that it doesn’t matter how they live their lives, and that lifestyle is a choice. Certainly there are choices and all of us know that choices turn out to be either good or bad.

I choose to believe that there is a God, and that He created all that exists. I make that choice knowing I know nothing, but accepting in faith what I read in the Bible and the evidence I see all around me in creation. I make that choice because God has chosen to pursue me with His relentless love since He first put a mark on my life when I was just twelve years old. Knowing that I know nothing leaves me with no other choice than to come on my knees surrendering to God in a place where words are meaningless because I cannot even begin to describe the overwhelming love of God or why it matters so much that I try every day to give Him first place in my life.

How about you? What do you know?

When I first came to you, dear brothers and sisters, I didn’t use lofty words and impressive wisdom to tell you God’s secret plan. For I decided that while I was with you I would forget everything except Jesus Christ, the one who was crucified. I came to you in weakness – timid and trembling. And my message and my preaching were very plain. Rather than using clever and persuasive speeches, I relied only on the power of the Holy Spirit. I did this so you would trust not in human wisdom but in the power of God. (1 Corinthians 2: 1-5 NLT)

