The first single released by Paul McCartney after The Beatles broke up was called ‘Another Day’. I have the song in digital format, but also on vinyl somewhere in my attic. The song traces the routine of a young woman as she begins another day from bed to bath to office to coffee break and back home where she waits alone for the man of her dreams. When he comes he doesn’t stay. The lines of the song then describe the sadness of this young woman who ‘finds it hard to stay alive’.IMG_7258 copy

I am guessing that we all have days like that; days that are just another day of the same old routine. My routine during school term is pretty similar unless I am travelling. Wake up, get up, make a cup of tea, wake John up, shower, drive John to the bus station, home, make more tea including one for Marilyn, wake Marilyn up, eat breakfast, make coffee, work, make coffee; and so it goes on. Somewhere in that morning stuff I try to fit in time when I can be alone with God. That’s where I have no fixed routine, as each quiet time is very different.Norwegian skies copy

There are days when my routine conspires to push God out. Early starts with work when I am adjusting to another time zone and being collected from a hotel at a time when I would rather still be in bed are a good example. So how do we fit God into just another day and make sure that our times with Him do not become as routine as our days often are?

IMG_7911 copyIncreasingly, I find that I wake with people on my mind who I know I need to pray for; so I do, even while heading downstairs to make that all important first cup of tea (Darjeeling with no milk and definitely no sugar). Waking John serves to remind me of all that God has given me through my family so I have reason to thank Him. Thanks continue in the shower. How good it is to stand in that stream of hot clean water knowing that God has provided with me with so much. Then when I drop John at the bus station I have the opportunity to pray for him as he faces his day. There is the forty-five minute bus journey through the lanes and villages, the day at school, the after-school sport, the journey home, etc. There is so much to pray for, although mostly I ask God to keep John safe and gift him with the common sense that most sixteen-year old boys lack.

IMG_3235 copyAs the day goes on I realise that it is not just another day. It is a day that God has made. What better routine to fill my day with than a routine of being connected to my Heavenly Father – from the moment I wake until the moment I fall asleep. I am still working on that. How about you? Is it just another day for you?

This is the day the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it. (Psalm 118:24 NKJV)

 

