PICT0085 copyIf you are of a certain age then you will remember Sunday best. Some readers may still wear Sunday best. I don’t, but I do remember Sunday best, albeit not too favourably.

I never could understand why it was necessary to dress up in clothes I felt awkward in on Sunday. There were other Sunday rules when I was growing up. These included not being able to buy anything. I can’t remember ever going to the beach on a Sunday, but we may have done. I am not sure that any of the Sunday rules made a difference to my life. They certainly did not provide any incentive to believe or respond to what was taught in church and Sunday school. I did realise that Sunday was a different day, but I can’t say that it felt like a special day because of how we dressed.So is Sunday best good or bad? I really don’t think that how we dress makes a difference to God. I don’t think He is worried about what we look like on the outside at all. In fact there is every chance that God delights in the variety of colours and styles of clothing He sees in church, as much as He delights in the fact that we are there.

HBC2But what about the inside? How does God feel when He looks beyond the suits, the jeans and t-shirts, the tidy and the untidy, etc.? How can we achieve Sunday best on the inside? How can we truly worship God amid all the distractions – internal and external? And shouldn’t we be aiming for Sunday best on the inside every day of the week. One thing I do know is that this business of following Jesus is not as easy as not following Jesus. But then Jesus never said it would be easy.

So if like me you struggle at times, and worry that God can’t possibly love you because you know what’s inside isn’t Sunday best, then give yourself a pat on the head. You are normal. Following Jesus is not an event but a process. He doesn’t expect us to do it alone and He doesn’t want us to do it alone. That’s why He gave us church. So we could journey together. Preferably in honesty with ourselves, with each other, and with God. And the reason I like Sunday best out of all of the days of the week is because that is when I am encouraged by being able to worship God with those who journey with me. I couldn’t care less what they are wearing.

All the believers devoted themselves to the apostles’ teaching, and to fellowship, and to sharing in meals (including the Lord’s Supper), and to prayer. A deep sense of awe came over them all, and the apostles performed many miraculous signs and wonders. And all the believers met together in one place and shared everything they had. They sold their property and possessions and shared the money with those in need. They worshiped together at the Temple each day, met in homes for the Lord’s Supper, and shared their meals with great joy and generosity – all the while praising God and enjoying the goodwill of all the people. And each day the Lord added to their fellowship those who were being saved. (Acts 2:42-47 NLT)

