I must apologise for the lack of content on Ebs and Flows during the last week. The main problem is that life has been overrun by work. Does that sound familiar? Then the weekend was filled with home, church and family. All of a sudden it is Monday morning again.IMG_1458
Most of last Monday was spent desperately trying to complete a report, prior to packing and heading to Birmingham Airport in readiness for a flight to Dublin early on Tuesday morning. Passing through security at the airport was relatively painless after I coughed up a fiver for a pass to allow me to use the express lane. Getting from security into departures via the duty free area was rather more challenging because the area has been turned into a maze, presumably with the sole aim of entrapping travellers into making purchases. When I finally sat down with a cup of coffee and a croissant in the lounge I thought about why I do what I do, and what it must be like to have a ‘normal’ job: A nine-to-five job – if such a thing exists. I don’t think I have ever had a normal job. These days my thoughts are more focused on retirement – if such a thing exists.
IMG_1484Having spent last week on the road working long days in and around Dublin and Limerick the challenge this week is to concentrate on writing the reports generated by the work in Ireland. As I work from home there are many voices to distract me: Facebook, the kitchen (coffee and items with a high chocolate content in particular), the desire to be outside rather than inside, emails, etc. The main problem is that I would rather be anywhere than seated at my desk.
IMG_1517There are days when all I want to do is ride around the lanes of Herefordshire on my bike. Or jump in the car and cross the border into Wales and find a quiet and beautiful corner to ponder. The problem is that work is a necessary evil. There are bills to pay. If only I got paid as quickly as I have to pay my bills (I am self-employed). Paying bills and supporting my family is a good enough reason to work, but for me work is not a means to wealth but health. I want to live a healthy balanced life in which there is time to spend with and serving God, and time to spend with and serving my family. This is where I find true riches: in God, through my family, and through my church family. And my relationship with God has to be more important than anything, because it is key to everything. Jesus said:

“If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me. If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it. And what do you benefit if you gain the whole world but lose your own soul? Is anything worth more than your soul?” (Matthew 16:24 NLT)

 

 

 

 

