Life has been a tad demanding of late, hence the sporadic nature of posts on this blog. In the last week I have travelled up to Bradford to carry out an audit, been to Cardiff for various reasons – not least of all to look after a grandson, had an important meeting at church, eaten Krispy Kreme doughnuts, and enjoyed a splendid evening with friends. I have also cast my vote in the UK referendum in which we as a country decided by a narrow majority that we no longer wish to be ruled by unelected Eurocrats from their ivory towers in Brussels. It really wasn’t about immigration for most of us. Hopefully we will still be able to get Krispy Kreme doughnuts.
IMG_2814Bradford is probably not my favourite place, but the drive there passes through some stunning scenery in various English and Welsh counties, and involves driving on the highest motorway in England. I mostly enjoyed the drive. I also made the acquaintance of some good people who work hard but no longer feel valued by their employer. I came away with some gratitude that I am self-employed.

The visit to Cardiff was two-fold. It enabled a visit to the Genius Bar in the Apple Store where the screen to my laptop was replaced under guarantee, and youngest son John was lucky enough to get his bent iPhone replaced. John went home on the train and I stayed down to collect grandson Reuben from school, take him to McDonalds, do the bedtime story bit, etc. I also took Reuben to school the next morning before driving the seventy-five miles home in time to rendezvous with insurance surveyors who were due to carry out an inspection at our church.

Our Saturday evening with friends was an evening of food and fellowship and laughter. It was a good night. The one thing we all have in common is our faith in God. All of us have experienced challenging times, and some of us are still under pressure. But in everything that has happened over the last week the thing that I am most blessed by is the knowledge that wherever I go God goes with me. Yes I am grateful for work, for family, for friends, for church, for beautiful countryside, for food and fellowship and everything else. But without God none of it would mean anything. So as I reflect on a week that has both lifted me and challenged me I am so glad that God has walked the week with me. It doesn’t matter that I have been under pressure this week. What matters is that God has carried me through it. And … He will do it all again next week, and the week after.

Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing.
If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you. He will not rebuke you for asking. But when you ask him, be sure that your faith is in God alone. Do not waver, for a person with divided loyalty is as unsettled as a wave of the sea that is blown and tossed by the wind. James 1: 2-6 (NLT)

